donderdag 5 november 2015

Setlist Eindhoven, Nederland 17 februari 1993

Ik heb een fout gemaakt door mijn journalistieke administratie niet goed op orde te hebben. Dinsdag schreef ik dat Dylan zijn debuut maakte in Eindhoven. Dat is niet juist, het optreden in het Muziekgebouw in de Noord-Brabantse stad was reeds zijn tweede concert aldaar. Zelfs de concertzaal was identiek aan het vorige optreden. Dolf was zo opmerkzaam om mij te wijzen dat ik in gebreke ben gebleven.
Ik wil mijn fout herstellen door de setlist van die avond in 1993 hieronder alsnog te vermelden, inclusief de huishoudelijke zaken rondom het concert.

Muziekcentrum Frits Philips
Eindhoven, Nederland
17 februari 1993

1. Folsom Prison Blues (song by Johnny Cash)
2. The Man In Me
3. All Along The Watchtower
4. Tangled Up In Blue
5. Watching The River Flow
6. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again
7. Silvio (song by Bob Dylan & Robert Hunter)
8. Tomorrow Night (song by Sam Coslow/Will Grosz)
9. Jim Jones (trad. arr. by Bob Dylan)
10. Gates Of Eden
11. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
12. Cat's In The Well
13. I And I
14. The Times They Are A-Changin'
15. Highway 61 Revisited


16. Ballad Of A Thin Man
17. Everything Is Broken
18. It Ain't Me, Babe

Concert # 466 of The Never-Ending Tour. Concert # 10 of the 1993 Winter Tour Of Europe. 1993 concert # 10.
Concert # 10 with the 9th Never-Ending Tour Band: Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel guitar & electric slide guitar), John Jackson (guitar), Tony Garnier (bass), Winston Watson (drums & percussion).

8-11, 14, 18 acoustic with the band.
3, 4, 13, 16, 18 Bob Dylan harmonica.
9, 10, 18 without Winston Watson.
11, 14, 18 Bucky Baxter electric mandolin.
14 Liz Souissi (shared vocal).

Notes from a fan in the audience:
Suddenly at the start of The Times They Are A-Changin' there's a girl standing on stage. Blond, dressed in black, wearing a hat like it could have been a souvenir of the Rolling Thunder Revue. She wants to sing with Dylan. The bodyguard wants to take her away, but Dylan says it's OK. They sing the first verse together. She sings great! Then Dylan steps back to play some guitar, probably expected her to leave, but she stays on stage. Dylan shows her his guitar as if he wants to say: "Maybe you wanna take this over as well?" Then the bodyguard again comes to take her away, but Dylan again says it's OK. They sing the whole song together (and it sounds very good!) although Liz Souissi from Bern, Switzerland, is shaking all over, nervous as she is. All the time there are big cheers and lots of applause from the crowd. When the song is over, she starts to walk off stage, but then returns, giving Bob a big hug and kiss. This was front-page news in the local newspaper: “A Kiss for Swiss Liz”. Her comments: “This is what I always dreamed of. I almost didn't dare, but still I took a chance on it. Of course I expected to be taken away immediately. To me this is the most beautiful thing I ever experienced.” And it was beautiful for many people in the crowd. Bob even smiled when all this happened.

8 new songs (44%) compared to previous concert. 4 new songs for this tour.

Stereo PA recording, 110 minutes.

(Met dank aan het enorme archief van

Geen opmerkingen:

Een reactie posten